History of LLN

In June of 1987, Olga Arenivar, Cecilia Alvarado Kuster, Betty Cotton, Irma Alvarez and Sharon Yaap met at the Great Teachers Seminar in Santa Barbara and shared their concern about the under representation of Latinas at that event and throughout the California Community College system.

Recognizing, that the representation of Latinas in higher education was not improving, and that a Latina-sensitive staff development programs was in desperate need, and that Latina students were not being prepared for successful employment in the changing California job market, these women decided to act.

These five women decided to convene a conference to develop Latina Leadership in the California Community Colleges and to expand the number of Latinas throughout the system. Nine months later, the organizing committee had doubled in size. With the assistance of a small Fund for the Improvement of Instruction grant, the conference, Hispanic Women: The Untapped Leadership Resource was organized. Participants in this highly praised event identified issues impeding Latina leadership and proposed strategies for addressing those issues.

Past Presidents

  • 2014-2016   Dolores Cornejo, Fullerton College
  • 2014-2016   Geri Vargas, Modesto Junior College
  • 2013-2014   Isabel Macias, San Jose Evergreen Valley College District/
    Senorina S. Saldivar, College of the Desert
  • 2012-2013   Cynthia Lavarie, Cerritos College/
    Senorina Saldivar, College of the Desert/
  • 2011-2012   Eva Jimenez, Shasta College
  • 2010-2011   Martha Robles, Modesto Junior College
  • 2009-2010   Marlene Deleon, Palomar College/Martha Robles, Modesto Junior College
  • 2008-2009   Maria Ramirez, Ohlone College
  • 2007-2008   Cynthia Munoz, Kern Community College District
  • 2006-2007   Carmen Carrillo, Los Angeles Harbor College
  • 2005-2006   Glenda Moscoso, Cuesta College
  • 2004-2005   Elida Moreno, Santa Barbara City College
  • 2003-2004   Elida Moreno, Santa Barbara City College
  • 2002-2003   Christine Hernandez, Bakersfield College
  • 2000-2002   Sally Rivera, Palo Verde College
  • 1998-2000   Marge Rivas, Butte College
  • 1997-1998   Victoria Lugo, Cabrillo College
  • 1996-1997   Carol Justiniano, Los Angeles Community College District
  • 1995-1996   Lupe Gomez, Sacramento College/Carol Justiniano, Los Angeles Community College District
  • 1994-1995   Marguerite Albanez, Santa Ana College
  • 1993-1994   Jacqueline Reza, DeAnza College
  • 1992-1993   Martha Carreon, Rio Hondo Community College
  • 1991-1992   Connie Hernández, Contra Costa College
  • 1990-1991   Betty Cotton Rancho Santiago College
  • 1987-1990   Olga Arenivar, Los Medanos College